Shop now

Pure Colours

The powerful colors of Mother Nature

“Wash before wearing”. Who does not know this recommendation… The reason is so simple and frightening at the same time. Our conventional clothing is full of chemicals. The list of toxic substances in our fashion is long and has unfortunately become the norm for quite some time. The effects: some chemicals, to be precise, certain dyes can cause allergic skin reactions, among other things.

It is estimated that up to 20% of all industrial water pollution is due to the dyeing and finishing of our textiles.

It feels only natural to us to go back to the origin of textile art when it comes to the dyeing process. Our mantra: act in complete harmony with Mother Nature in everything we do.

From now on, our 100% Alpaca wool is dyed in a natural and traditional way using plant materials from the Andes. Even the Incas knew how to extract colors from plants, leaves, tree barks, but also from fruits and vegetables to enliven their clothes with color.

Although the original alpaca wool comes in up to 22 different colors and up to 300 different shades, the indigenous communities use the powerful colors of nature to express their spirituality in their textile art.

The color yellow is dyed with the help of the Andean flower Q’olle, for example. For red, purple and pink, different beets are used, such as the well-known beetroot. To dye alpaca wool green, one starts with a plant. The most common plant used here is Chil’ca, a weedy shrub that seems to grow everywhere in Peru. Together with a mineral compound called collpa, found in the jungle, the leaves are boiled before the yarn can absorb the color. Depending on what is available to the weavers, two methods are common in the Andean region for dyeing alpaca blue or grey. One of these works with tara, a native bean, while the other works with indigo, a plant that grows at lower altitudes. When dyeing, both are boiled in water with the alpaca wool. Interestingly, indigo is often mixed with fructose from overripe or rotting fruits, such as apples or pears.

Experience nature’s purity in our new FW collection!

Share:

Our works of art

Achiy on Instagram

Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed

By displaying this Instagram feed you agree to Instagram’s privacy policy. This may include cookies, analytics, personalization and ads.

Show feed

Zum Shop

Pure Colours

Die kraftvollen Farben von Mutter Natur

„Vor dem ersten Tragen einmal waschen“. Wer kennt diese Empfehlung nicht… Der Grund hierfür ist so simple und erschreckend zugleich. Unsere konventionelle Kleidung ist voll mit Chemikalien. Die Liste an toxischen Stoffen in unserer Mode ist lang und schon leider seit geraumer Zeit zur Norm geworden. Die Auswirkungen: einige Chemikalien, um genau zu sein, bestimmte Farbstoffe können unter anderem allergische Hautreaktionen hervorrufen.

Es wird angenommen, dass bis zu 20% der gesamten industriellen Wasserverschmutzung auf der Färben und die Endverarbeitung unserer Textilien zurückzuführen ist.

Auch beim Färbungsprozess gehen wir natürlich zurück zum Ursprung der Textilkunst und handeln im völligen Einklang mit Mutter Natur.

Von nun an ist unsere 100% Alpaka Wolle auf ganz natürliche und traditionelle Art und Weise aus pflanzlichen Materialien der Anden eingefärbt. Schon die Inkas wussten, wie sie Farben aus Pflanzen, Blättern, Baumrinden, aber auch aus Obst, Gemüse gewinnen konnten um ihre Kleidungsstücke mit Farbe zu beleben.

Obwohl die ursprüngliche Alpaka Wolle in bis zu 22 verschiedenen Farben vorkommt und in bis zu 300 verschiedenen Schattierungen, verwenden die indigenen Communities die kraftvollen Farben der Natur um ihre Spiritualität in der Textilkunst auszudrücken.

Hierbei wird die Farbe Gelb zum Beispiel mithilfe der Andenblume Q’olle eingefärbt. Für Rot, Lila und Pink werden verschiedene Rüben, wie z.B. die Rote Beete verwendet. Um Alpakawolle grün zu färben, beginnt man mit einer Pflanze. Die hier am häufigsten verwendete Pflanze ist Chil’ca, ein unkrautartiger Strauch, der überall in Peru zu wachsen scheint. Zusammen mit einer Mineralverbindung namens Collpa, die im Dschungel zu finden ist, werden die Blätter gekocht, bevor das Garn oder die Wolle die Farbe aufnehmen kann. Je nachdem, was den Webern zur Verfügung steht, sind in der Andenregion zwei Methoden üblich, um Alpaka blau oder grau zu färben. Eine davon arbeitet mit Tara, einer einheimischen Bohne, während die andere mit Indigo arbeitet, einer Pflanze, die in den unteren Höhenlagen wächst. Beim Färben werden beide mit der Alpaka Wolle in Wasser gekocht. Interessanterweise wird Indigo oft mit Fruktose aus überreiften oder verrottenden Früchten, wie Äpfeln oder Birnen gemischt.

Erlebe die pure Reinheit der Natur in unserer neuen HW Kollektion.

Teilen:

Unsere Kunstwerke

Achiy auf Instagram

Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed

Mit dem Laden des Beitrags akzeptieren akzeptierst du die Datenschutzerklärung von Instagram.

Feed laden